Home Bread-Bakers v104.n057.1

Re: spelt bread/wheat intolerance

Debunix <debunix@well.com>
Sun, 26 Dec 2004 00:54:18 -0600
Spelt is a variety of wheat, and if your friend is really wheat allergic or 
gluten intolerant, I would not expect it to be any different than regular 
wheat bread, despite what many web sites may claim.

Some gluten intolerant people do fine with oats, but usually all types of 
wheat--including standard wheat, spelt, durum, and kamut; rye and 
triticale; and barley are contraindicated.

But that still leaves plenty of grains (rice, corn, maybe oats, teff, 
quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat) that can be used in breads.

Diane Brown in St. Louis